An audience with George McNeill

Date: 6th February 2012

In the 100th running of the Stawell Gift in 1981, his eighth visit to Stawell, Scotman George McNeill finally achieved his lifelong dream of Stawell Gift victory.

In a final full of drama, 1978 winner Steve Proudlock broke and was penalised a metre. The favourite was Bryan Mueller, but in his third consecutive final McNeill won his first Gift at 34 years of age. He raced to victory in 11.9 seconds off 4m.

Today at a luncheon in Melbourne, sponsors, media and members of the running and Stawell community were thoroughly entertained by McNeill’s renowned banter and humour, as he reminisced the glory days.

Among the guests were six Gift winners from across the last three decades  –

Jason Richardson – 1993
Adrian Mott – 2006
Andrew McManus – 1992
George McNeill – 1981
Chris Perry – 1982
Dallas O’Brien – 1983

And of course a visit from McNeill just wouldn’t be complete without a resounding rendition of  “O Flower of Scotland”.


Comments are closed.